A Saving Doubt!

A short excerpt from what might be a book someday!

table of bounty

The things we have learned often create a barrier, a wall against growth and new creation. If we spend our emotional, psychological and spiritual energy protecting the walls of the castle, we may find ourselves in a corner, dark, damp, musty. We may find ourselves in a castle of our own making after spirit has retreated!

“He who is not busy being born, is busy dying.” Bob Dylan It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding)

I embrace mystery! When my son asks me a question for which I have no definitive answer (99% of all the questions) I just look at him and say “that is the beauty of faith!”

“Embracing paradox helped me discover that religion is a neurological disorder for which faith is the only cure.”
Frank Schaefer. Why I am an Atheist who believes in God . Page 24.

Doubt may be the greatest gift to my faith.  When I was certain, I had no room to grow. Yes, I dug and studied and tried to mine new truths.  But it was all within the same framework, within the “castle of my own making!”  Now there is no end to the universe of truth.

Since doubt entered, I have learned to look up and see the world, the universe, outside the bubble. There is no end to the places that truth can be discovered. Science is no threat, just another field to explore! Music and art are no longer divided by holy and vulgar, just beauty and truth. What might we discover if we step out of the ghetto of “Christian” music, movies, language and books? We might discover that those outside the ghetto have as much to teach us as we do them!

I might find an insight within the beauty of any stream of thought or faith. Is there a reason to deny truth just because it comes from the mouth of a practicing Hindu or Muslim or Buddhist? I frequently chat online with an old friend who abandoned (or should I say escaped) an extreme faith and has since become a leading voice of atheism in my home state. We don’t always agree but we have some really interesting discussions. Sometimes I find myself agreeing with him and disagreeing with those who self-identify as Christians.

What doubt and mystery provide is a bursting of the certainty bubble that protected me from free thought and free discussion and an opportunity to understand the world and people. 

I no longer know everything!

I approach people and subjects as a student, a seeker. Maybe that is what Jesus meant by “having the faith of a child!”

1 thought on “A Saving Doubt!

  1. Rob Grayson

    Great stuff, Jim. So many Christians live inside the “certainty bubble”. I lived there myself for many, many years. Bursting the bubble is scary, but once you’re out, there’s no way you’re ever going back in. Keep exploring!

    Reply

Leave a comment